Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61  
Old 06-25-2009, 03:33 PM
ADoubleDot's Avatar
ADoubleDot ADoubleDot is offline
Member
Non-Actuary
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slightly Dusty South
Studying for the rest of my life
Posts: 37,035
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GatesIsAntichrist View Post
Try
Code:
Sub macIncrDec()
  If Selection.NumberFormat = "General" Then
    Selection.NumberFormat = "0."
  Else
    If InStr(Selection.NumberFormat, ".") = 0 Then
      Selection.NumberFormat = Selection.NumberFormat & "."
    End If
  End If
  Selection.NumberFormat = Selection.NumberFormat & "0"
End Sub
and build from there if needed.

edit:All with Selection
I'm getting nothing over here. I tried it on numbers formatted in several different ways but it keeps yellow highlighting the last step.
__________________
ADoubleDot: I'm an actuarial icon.

**** Juan.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 11-04-2009, 03:35 PM
Noddy's Avatar
Noddy Noddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,450
Default

Is there a way to escape out of 'Find and Replace All' that is quicker than putting a stapler on the esc key?
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 11-04-2009, 03:37 PM
JMO's Avatar
JMO JMO is offline
Carol Marler
Non-Actuary
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Back home again in Indiana
Studying for Nothing actuarial.
Posts: 36,394
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noddy View Post
Is there a way to escape out of 'Find and Replace All' that is quicker than putting a stapler on the esc key?
Oh, I hate when that happens. I always tell myself, "next time, just replace one to test." Then I always forget this the next time.
__________________
Carol Marler, "Just My Opinion"

Pluto is no longer a planet and I am no longer an actuary. Please take my opinions as non-actuarial.


My latest favorite quotes, updated Oct 13, 2017.

Spoiler:
I should keep these four permanently.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekrap View Post
JMO is right
Quote:
Originally Posted by campbell View Post
I agree with JMO.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westley View Post
And def agree w/ JMO.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MG View Post
This. And everything else JMO wrote.
And this all purpose permanent quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr T Non-Fan View Post
Yup, it is always someone else's fault.
MORE:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bro View Post
I recommend you get perspective.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enough Exams Already View Post
Dude, you can't fail a personality test. It just isn't that kind of test.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Locrian View Post
I'm disappointed I don't get to do both.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 11-04-2009, 03:44 PM
Guilty Bystander Guilty Bystander is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
College: Meeeshigan
Favorite beer: Bell's Two Hearted IPA & kunhenn's DRIPA
Posts: 1,775
Default

Stapler on the esc key. Gotta remember that one.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 11-04-2009, 03:59 PM
E's Avatar
E E is offline
Eddie Smith
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: May 2003
College: UGA
Posts: 8,812
Default

Blackberry on the escape key works too. I've also employed scotch tape.
__________________


Learn how FSA exams are different from the prelims

Registration is open for all of our spring 2018 FSA exam online seminars:

ILA-LP | ILA-LFV-U | ILA-LFV-C | ILA-LRM | QFI Core | QFI Adv | QFI IRM | G&H Core | G&H Adv | G&H Specialty

Check out our Technical Skills Course: Excel, VBA, Access, brand new R material, and more!

Follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 11-05-2009, 10:01 AM
Noddy's Avatar
Noddy Noddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,450
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMO View Post
Oh, I hate when that happens. I always tell myself, "next time, just replace one to test." Then I always forget this the next time.
Me too ... usually 5 minutes later.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guilty Bystander View Post
Stapler on the esc key. Gotta remember that one.
Quote:
Originally Posted by E View Post
Blackberry on the escape key works too. I've also employed scotch tape.
I've found that the tape dispenser works well too.

p.s. I dont think there is a way other than the above noted or a hard reboot.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 11-05-2009, 10:07 AM
JMO's Avatar
JMO JMO is offline
Carol Marler
Non-Actuary
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Back home again in Indiana
Studying for Nothing actuarial.
Posts: 36,394
Default

I dunno. I have found that just holding down the esc key doesn't work. You have to hit it for each error message.

Re: "Hard reboot." In my experience, it is possible to close down Excel without rebooting everything on the computer, but if one has also been negligent* about saving your work, it's a painful choice to do this.

* and of course I have to plead guilty to forgetting this little item befor doing the replace action. . .
__________________
Carol Marler, "Just My Opinion"

Pluto is no longer a planet and I am no longer an actuary. Please take my opinions as non-actuarial.


My latest favorite quotes, updated Oct 13, 2017.

Spoiler:
I should keep these four permanently.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekrap View Post
JMO is right
Quote:
Originally Posted by campbell View Post
I agree with JMO.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westley View Post
And def agree w/ JMO.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MG View Post
This. And everything else JMO wrote.
And this all purpose permanent quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr T Non-Fan View Post
Yup, it is always someone else's fault.
MORE:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bro View Post
I recommend you get perspective.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enough Exams Already View Post
Dude, you can't fail a personality test. It just isn't that kind of test.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Locrian View Post
I'm disappointed I don't get to do both.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 11-05-2009, 10:54 AM
E's Avatar
E E is offline
Eddie Smith
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: May 2003
College: UGA
Posts: 8,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMO View Post
I dunno. I have found that just holding down the esc key doesn't work. You have to hit it for each error message.

Re: "Hard reboot." In my experience, it is possible to close down Excel without rebooting everything on the computer, but if one has also been negligent* about saving your work, it's a painful choice to do this.

* and of course I have to plead guilty to forgetting this little item befor doing the replace action. . .
Yes, you can kill Excel without the reboot. Just do CTRL+SHIFT+ESC to bring up Task Manager, then end the Excel process. This will shut Excel down without saving any work.

Doing a CTRL+S before attempting a big find/replace gives you a restoration point. In other words, save, save, save.
__________________


Learn how FSA exams are different from the prelims

Registration is open for all of our spring 2018 FSA exam online seminars:

ILA-LP | ILA-LFV-U | ILA-LFV-C | ILA-LRM | QFI Core | QFI Adv | QFI IRM | G&H Core | G&H Adv | G&H Specialty

Check out our Technical Skills Course: Excel, VBA, Access, brand new R material, and more!

Follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 11-05-2009, 11:06 AM
JMO's Avatar
JMO JMO is offline
Carol Marler
Non-Actuary
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Back home again in Indiana
Studying for Nothing actuarial.
Posts: 36,394
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by E View Post
Yes, you can kill Excel without the reboot. Just do CTRL+SHIFT+ESC to bring up Task Manager, then end the Excel process. This will shut Excel down without saving any work.

Doing a CTRL+S before attempting a big find/replace gives you a restoration point. In other words, save, save, save.
If I remembered to save first, I would probably also remember to test replacing just one.
__________________
Carol Marler, "Just My Opinion"

Pluto is no longer a planet and I am no longer an actuary. Please take my opinions as non-actuarial.


My latest favorite quotes, updated Oct 13, 2017.

Spoiler:
I should keep these four permanently.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekrap View Post
JMO is right
Quote:
Originally Posted by campbell View Post
I agree with JMO.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westley View Post
And def agree w/ JMO.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MG View Post
This. And everything else JMO wrote.
And this all purpose permanent quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr T Non-Fan View Post
Yup, it is always someone else's fault.
MORE:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bro View Post
I recommend you get perspective.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enough Exams Already View Post
Dude, you can't fail a personality test. It just isn't that kind of test.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Locrian View Post
I'm disappointed I don't get to do both.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 05-20-2010, 11:35 PM
Ouling Ouling is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 134
Default

If I have one row to for the input data that have calculation

and I have 30000 rows of data that feeds into them as inputs

and I want excel cycle through them to spit out 30000 calcuation into another worksheet

Without me having to edit, copy paste, and drag and drop

Anyone know how that works without having to write long macros?

Thanks alot
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.27723 seconds with 10 queries