Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Property - Casualty / General Insurance
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

DW Simpson International Actuarial Jobs
Canada  Asia  Australia  Bermuda  Latin America  Europe

Old 02-19-2019, 03:25 PM
CAS

Default Predictive Modeling Material

I get time allocated to research/learning. Typing things out and explaining them helps keep things fresh in my mind, so I'm counting this as learning time. Hopefully others can benefit from this as well. I'll probably update this with my research and to fix the formatting. The initial post is probably going to birds-eye view, but that bird vomits on your with a ton of words that are barely cohesive. I'll clean it up over time and implement any suggestions that others may have.

Predictive Modeling In Insurance:

If at any point I am incorrect, please let me know and I'll adjust this post. I am self taught (outside of the advice given here), so I may have made some incorrect assumptions along the way. I focused on learning in R because I had familiarity with it so can only speak to that. If I could turn back time (if I could find a way), I would probably learn Python. It is more flexible and plays nicely with other languages. It also has packages that do GPU processing for those of you with large data sets.