Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Old 01-03-2018, 11:07 PM
Non-Actuary

College: William & Mary, 4th year
Question Should I stay on the actuarial track?

I’m an undergraduate student graduating in May 2018 with majors in computer science and statistics. I came into college originally wanting to be an actuary, but I found myself very interested in computer science as well. I have passed Exam P but I don’t know if it is worth it for me to continue taking exams.

I have accepted a Data Analyst job at Capital One in McLean, VA starting in August 2018. It’s an excellent job with a starting salary of $83,000 and signing bonus of $12,000. I will be promoted to Senior Data Analyst after 1 year and promoted to Principal Data Analyst after 4 years if I continue to work at the company. There is also a possibility I could change roles to something else (ex. software engineer, data scientist). Capital One does not hire actuaries to my knowledge.

I’m not sure if I should abandon the actuarial track and pursue a more technical (or business) career at Capital One… Or if I should keep studying for actuarial exams with plans to leave Capital One eventually. I believe doing this would make me a career changer. I have done some lurking and from what I understand: 1)it’s difficult to be a career changer, 2)I would have to take a salary cut, 3)I should not pass more than 3 exams without having an actuarial EL job and 4) I’ll already have gotten into another excellent quantitative field, do I really want to leave it. This is what I have gathered, but I am naïve and inexperienced so I appreciate any opinions or advice.
Old 01-03-2018, 11:15 PM
SOA AAA

Quote:
Originally Posted by data_analyst View Post
...(blah, blah)