Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Browse Open Actuarial Jobs

Life  Health  Casualty  Pension  Entry Level  All Jobs  Salaries

Old 02-21-2017, 06:36 PM
CAS

Question Shall I find a job? Or go to Actuarial Grad School?

Hi Everyone,

I am stressed about what my next step should be. Please give me some advice Thank you very much.

My Background:
I graduated in May 2016 and am currently working for a small family office as an investment analyst. I didn't take exams in college due to the lack of study time, but have now passed P and FM and will be taking March 2017 MFE and May 2017 Exam S. I was planning to go the CAS path because I don't know which track I should choose if I do SOA. My current job is okay for now, but there is uncertainty in the next couple of months regarding my visa sponsorship, etc. and my job is completely unrelated to the actuarial field.

I tried searching for some job openings online about two weeks ago, but the experience was awkward because 1) I am technically no longer a student, but in this field I am not an "experienced." 2) Almost all the jobs posted on any company's website under "experienced" required 3+ years of experience in the actuarial field (even the jobs with an "analyst" title, which I thought would be more entry-level).

Questions:
1) If my goal is to become an actuary, shall I leave my current job and go into the field as soon as possible? If so, shall I start job searching after I pass more exams (maybe after passing MFE and S)? My original plan was to work for my current company until I finish FCAS - is this a horrible idea? For people who switch into actuarial from other fields, how did you manage this transition and could you share some of your experience?