Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Upload your resume securely at https://www.dwsimpson.com
to be contacted when new jobs meet your skills and objectives.

Old 02-23-2018, 11:42 PM
Non-Actuary

Unhappy career advice needed!!!

Hi everyone. I graduated in December 2016 with a degree in actuarial like most people here. But in 2017, I struggled a lot to try to find an actuary job, as well as any relevant analyst positions. I have a few interviews but that was it, no job offered. And now almost 2 months in 2018, I still have no luck finding a decent job.

A little bit about my background. So I started college trying to go for a computer science degree, but I did so bad and it killed my GPA. I switched to actuarial major in the middle of my junior year and finally got my GPA up, but not enough to get it to 3.0 (only 2.97). I also graduated with 3 exams passed (FM, P, MFE). After graduation, as I was looking for a job, I passed 2 more (C, MLC). But it didn't help. I know passing too many exams without any relevant experience is a disadvantage. But at that time, I was really hoping to get an actuary job and impress my potential employer with my certifications.

In 2017, I was only trying to apply jobs in Minnesota (where I live) because of some family reasons. Right now, I'm free to apply anywhere that has job offers. But it has been more than a year. So do you think that I should give up applying for an actuary position? I also applied for financial/pricing/credit analyst, and underwriting positions as well, but couldn't even get a phone interview invitation. What should I do now?? I really want to get a job in insurance field and continue the actuary exams journey. Thank you in advance for your time reading this and your advice!!!