Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Old 03-08-2017, 03:06 PM
Non-Actuary

College: 4th year
Default Is There Hope For Me?

Alright, here's my situation. It isn't pretty, but I haven't completely fallen off the track yet.

I am an Actuarial Science student at a top public university in the midwest. My GPA is currently 2.952 (hopefully 3.0 by May). I will be graduating this coming December. I currently have no exams passed or internship experience. I didn't really realize how important internships were until recently. Even if I had known, I didn't have exams passed anyway, so I doubt I would have found one.

I took FM February 2017 and failed. I probably can't take it in April, because I kind of neglected my classes while studying, I need to focus on doing those to get my GPA up. I am looking to take it in June, and hopefully P in September.

So, assuming I pass FM and P with 3 months until graduation, will I be able to find a job? Would it be possible to get an internship after graduating? I hear it's rare, but I don't see why a company wouldn't jump on the opportunity to pay a recent graduate the amount that they would normally pay a student.
Old 03-08-2017, 03:10 PM
CAS

if your intent was to obfuscate your actual school by saying "top public university in the midwest" i would remove the name of the actual college from your profile
Old 03-08-2017, 03:12 PM
SOA AAA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Catholibertarian95 View Post
Alright, here's my situation. It isn't pretty,... [deleted unpretty parts]...

1. So, assuming I pass FM and P with 3 months until graduation, will I be able to find a job?
2. Would it be possible to get an internship after graduating?
1. Maybe.
2. Maybe.