Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Fill in a brief DW Simpson Registration Form
to be contacted when our jobs meet your criteria.

Old 10-03-2007, 09:40 AM

Default actuary to teacher??

Hi,

I've noticed on here many posts, some old & some more recent, concerning actuaries who are former math teachers, and even posts from current math teachers planning to become actuaries (and hence asking for advice about how to do this). I am an actuarial analyst, entry level, and when I was interviewing for positions I encountered more than one former math teacher, and there is one currently where I work. So I guess I can see why there's a shortage of math teachers!

Anyway, my girlfriend is currently student teaching to become a high school math teacher and it has gotten me to thinking I might like teaching better (I used to tutor math and was a substitute teacher and really enjoyed both). In the threads I came across, people are mostly vague about WHY they bailed on teaching (and so is my co-worker). So, my question is twofold-Why does this trend exist? And and have any of you heard of persons doing the opposite and going from actuarial work to math teaching? Thanks in advance for any comments.
Old 10-03-2007, 09:44 AM
official Troll bane

Favorite beer: PBR

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Wonderful View Post
Hi,

I've noticed on here many posts, some old & some more recent, concerning actuaries who are former math teachers, and even posts from current math teachers planning to become actuaries (and hence asking for advice about how to do this). I am an actuarial analyst, entry level, and when I was interviewing for positions I encountered more than one former math teacher, and there is one currently where I work. So I guess I can see why there's a shortage of math teachers!