Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Pension - Social Security
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

US LIFE, ANNUITY AND INVESTMENT JOBS

Old 08-10-2008, 04:17 PM
SOA

Default EA vs CEBS vs ASPPA

I have been working in the pension field for a little over 2 years now and I will hopefully have my ASA by the end of the year (just need to pass FAP2). I had planned on going directly to the EA exams after obtaining my ASA, but I just realized that I may not have the experience requirements to get the EA designation. I have spent the majority of my 2 years on DB administration/operational consulting projects, not performing valuations or "traditional" actuarial work on the liabilities side. Furthermore, I enjoy the work that I have been doing and would prefer to become a general comp & ben consultant, as opposed to an actuarial consultant.

As such, I am really struggling to decide what my next step should be in terms of education. While I do think the EA exams would be a good learning experience, I am hesitant to take the exams if I cannot get the designation. I have recently started to consider taking the CEBS exams or, to a lesser extent, the ASPPA exams in order to get a broader background in employee benefits. However, I am unsure if these designations carry any weight in the industry.

I would appreciate any thoughts/feedback on my situation.
Old 08-10-2008, 06:08 PM
SOA CCA AAA

All of the CEBS I've met are plan administrators, not actuaries. In fact, according to the Actuarial Directory, there are only 73 actuaries who are also CEBS. (I'm pretty sure that the directory includes only actuaries who are members of one society or another; in other words, it doesn't include actuaries whose only credential is an EA.)

My impression is that ASPPA members generally practice in the very small plan market, but that may be completely wrong.