Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-10-2008, 03:38 PM
independent1019 independent1019 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 528
Question Excel 2003, cells won't automatic update

Hi guys,

I am working with an excel spreadsheet where it has numerous cells looking up values from a single cell. For example: A1 = abc, A2 = A$1, A3 = A$1, ... A100 = A$1. But when I change the value in A1, it does not automatic flow throught the rest of the spreadsheet. I had to copy down the cells again or manually go in to each cell to press enter for it to update. The automatic calculate option is turn on. I don't know why it is doing this, can anybody help??? Thanks!
__________________
Jealousy always work the opposite way.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-10-2008, 03:48 PM
triplea's Avatar
triplea triplea is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Studying for Exam Committee
Posts: 4,923
Blog Entries: 2
Default

I had a similar problem once. Check the cell's format. Is it on Text?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-10-2008, 04:01 PM
independent1019 independent1019 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 528
Default

No..it's General and Number! sometimes it wouldn't even update formulas like it suppose to when i change inputs
__________________
Jealousy always work the opposite way.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-10-2008, 04:08 PM
Kid Notorious's Avatar
Kid Notorious Kid Notorious is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: best coast
Studying for life.
Favorite beer: hefe
Posts: 2,796
Default

I've had this happen before, and sometimes it seems that the workbook is corrupted, but other times it seems like Excel had a brain fart. Have you tried shutting down Excel and starting it back up again? Will other workbooks work fine until you open this workbook? I don't really have a solution for you, other than this: would it be a pain in the ass to transfer everything in that workbook to a new workbook?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-10-2008, 04:20 PM
packman's Avatar
packman packman is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 174
Default

It happens when you have lots of cell dependencies, especially when the excel file is big. Just save the file, and close other applications. Re-open the file. These cells should be updated.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-10-2008, 04:28 PM
Beach Bum Beach Bum is online now
Member
CAS AAA
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Currently away from an Ocean
Favorite beer: Surly Furious
Posts: 1,247
Default

I've learned that googling any excel questions I had works the best.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-10-2008, 06:08 PM
MCSS's Avatar
MCSS MCSS is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Studying for C
Posts: 265
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Yep similar problem too, not too long ago. I closed down everything, made a copy of the excel file, and then proceeded with working on that copy instead. Seemed to update fine.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-10-2008, 06:45 PM
L-Jo's Avatar
L-Jo L-Jo is offline
Member
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Seattle
Studying for GHADV
College: Santa Clara Alum
Favorite beer: Rock Bottom Red
Posts: 80
Default

Have you tried hitting F9? This will tell Excel to calculate when it thinks your workbook is too big to calculate automatically.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-10-2008, 07:23 PM
Kid Notorious's Avatar
Kid Notorious Kid Notorious is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: best coast
Studying for life.
Favorite beer: hefe
Posts: 2,796
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by L-Jo View Post
Have you tried hitting F9? This will tell Excel to calculate when it thinks your workbook is too big to calculate automatically.
Whenever I have this problem, that never works. I could hit F9 all day long, and it will still say "Calculate" on the lower left status bar.

Pacman & MCSS have the best advice so far.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-10-2008, 07:53 PM
WDV WDV is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Holding down the Ctrl + Shift keys and pressing F9 will force a recalculate. This problem happened to me before too for no apparent reason even with a smaller file.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.33713 seconds with 7 queries