Actuarial Outpost
 
Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Software & Technology
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Registration Form
Be Notified

of New
Actuarial Jobs

D.W. Simpson
& Company

International
Actuarial
Recruiters

www.dwsimpson.com

Australia Jobs
Casualty, Life,
Superannuation,
Health &
Investment

Pension
Actuarial Jobs

Consulting &
Insurers --
Students,
Associates &

Fellows


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-10-2010, 06:15 PM
IIRC IIRC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 397
Default Making a multiple choice test in Excel

I want to make it so that I enter an answer choice i.e A,B,C,D,E in cell A1 and B1 will automatically tell me if it is correct or not i.e. 1=correct or 0=incorrect. How do I do this? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-10-2010, 06:22 PM
ADoubleDot's Avatar
ADoubleDot ADoubleDot is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slightly Dusty South
Studying for the rest of my life
Posts: 37,017
Default

Put the answer key on a hidden and locked sheet (assuming the answers aren't to be known by the test taker) and a simple =IF(A2=AnswerSheet!A2,1,0) ought to do it
__________________
ADoubleDot: I'm an actuarial icon.

**** Juan.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-2010, 06:26 PM
IIRC IIRC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 397
Default

I'm not getting that to work for me. FYI it's just for me doing some practice drills, so I want then answer result to pop up right away in the next cell. If it's wrong, then I can stop and go over it. So, just for clarification, on the same sheet, enter answer A,B,C,D,E in cell A1 and B1 will say 1 = correct or 0 = incorrect.

Last edited by IIRC; 10-10-2010 at 07:05 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-10-2010, 07:19 PM
|B|rad |B|rad is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 827
Default

sounds like a waste of time imo

Also, ADD's answer was exactly right. If you can't get that to work for you, well, yikes...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2010, 07:28 PM
IIRC IIRC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 397
Default

Up yours, imo.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2010, 07:38 PM
IIRC IIRC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 397
Default

Does it make a difference if I'm using open office?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-2010, 07:42 PM
campbell's Avatar
campbell campbell is offline
Mary Pat Campbell
SOA AAA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Studying for duolingo and coursera
Favorite beer: Murphy's Irish Stout
Posts: 53,658
Blog Entries: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IIRC View Post
Does it make a difference if I'm using open office?
Ah. Hmmm.

Tell you what -- why not post an example spreadsheet to this thread, and maybe we could post our own fixes?

I'm not sure what's not supported in Open Office. I've not used it a lot, except for extremely basic stuff.
__________________
Old sig down for the count while project euler is offline

While you wait, let your thoughts fly on golden wings
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-10-2010, 08:05 PM
Bobby's Avatar
Bobby Bobby is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,696
Default

OpenOffice uses semicolons instead of commas. So the formula would look like this:

=IF(A2=AnswerSheet!A2;1;0)

It may be wise to learn some stuff about Excel and spreadsheet programs. This is definitely something you need to be able to figure out on your own if you want to be an actuarial analyst.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-10-2010, 08:06 PM
Jemaine Clement's Avatar
Jemaine Clement Jemaine Clement is offline
Member
SOA
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Studying for GH Specialty
Posts: 505
Default

Put the correct answer on cell A1 of a separate sheet Called "AnswerSheet".

Then you put your own attempted answer in cell A1 of a sheet called "TestSheet".

Then setting the formula in B1 of "TestSheet" to a simple =IF(A1='AnswerSheet'!A1;"correct";"incorrect") ought to do it

If you can't get that to work for you, well, yikes...

ETA:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby View Post
This is definitely something you need to be able to figure out on your own if you want to be an actuarial analyst.
__________________
It's business time...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-10-2010, 08:24 PM
|B|rad |B|rad is offline
Member
CAS
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 827
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IIRC View Post
Up yours, imo.




Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
*PLEASE NOTE: Posts are not checked for accuracy, and do not
represent the views of the Actuarial Outpost or its sponsors.
Page generated in 0.21338 seconds with 7 queries