Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Property - Casualty / General Insurance
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Old 06-07-2012, 02:11 PM
CAS

Studying for yolo
Default Reserving question - Developing basic layers

(Bear with me for a second as I fumble through asking this, I'm only an intern)

In calculating reserves I'm separating claims into a basic layer (up to the first 300k of a claim) and an excess layer (everything over 300k).

Note that because of this construction some basic claims are "maxed" - they are already over 300k so they cannot develop any more.

These claims are of course present in the triangles and contribute to the development factors.

My question is, when applying development factors, do you first subtract out maxed claims, apply the development factor, then add maxed claims back in,

OR

simply apply the development factor to the full amount including the maxed claims.

I am leaning towards the second since although maxed claims cannot develop they compensate for this by bringing the development factors down appropriately, but the actuary I am working under uses the first (he told me to ask here since I couldn't find any literature regarding this sort of split of the data).

Thanks in advance

Last edited by formose; 06-08-2012 at 09:55 AM..
Old 06-07-2012, 02:38 PM
CAS AAA

Studying for Nothing!!!!
College: Lehigh University Alum
Favorite beer: Yuengling

I am under the opinion that if the entire triangle is of basic claims only, you are ok to use the development factors directly.

However, if there is a significant trend over the relevant development period, you may wish to detrend your limits and not just use the raw data to develop factors.

For example, if there is a 5% trend, for AY 2012 your limit is 300K, for AY 2011 make it 286K (300/1.05) for 2010 make it $272K, etc.

Play in the AO Prediction Game now!