Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Life
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

US LIFE, ANNUITY AND INVESTMENT JOBS

Old 09-28-2006, 09:38 AM

Default The need for pure endowment insurance

I am studying module two of FAP online course. Right not I am reading about demographics, aging population, and the risk of outliving one's finances in the retirement years.

It has occured to me that pure endowment insurance would be a perfect solution for dealing with the risk of outliving your finances in old age. A person could do financial planing assuming to live no more than age 90 for example, and then buy pure endowment at 90 just in case she outlives that assumption.

Now I know that pure endowments are illegal, but I am interested in what do other people here think about this idea.
Old 09-28-2006, 09:43 AM
Carol Marler
SOA AAA

Studying for becoming retired, 2/1/14.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mirza View Post
I am studying module two of FAP online course. Right not I am reading about demographics, aging population, and the risk of outliving one's finances in the retirement years.

It has occured to me that pure endowment insurance would be a perfect solution for dealing with the risk of outliving your finances in old age. A person could do financial planing assuming to live no more than age 90 for example, and then buy pure endowment at 90 just in case she outlives that assumption.

Now I know that pure endowments are illegal, but I am interested in what do other people here think about this idea.
Rather than a pure endowment, make the benefit a life annuity deferred to age 90. Products similar to this are actually available in the real world, although age 90 sounds a bit high.
Old 09-28-2006, 09:52 AM

Quote: