Actuarial Outpost

Go Back   Actuarial Outpost > Actuarial Discussion Forum > Careers - Employment
FlashChat Actuarial Discussion Preliminary Exams CAS/SOA Exams Cyberchat Around the World Suggestions

Berlin - Madrid - Rome - Paris - Hamburg - Warsaw
Barcelona - Vienna - Milan - Munich - Prague - Cologne
Actuarial Jobs in Europe
Athens - Amsterdam - Frankfurt - Copenhagen
Hannover - Dublin - Brussels - Lyon - Zurich

Old 10-08-2006, 03:01 PM

Default College student deciding between accounting or actuarial science

Hello. I'm a college student deciding between Accounting and Actuarial Science. My school has a very good accouting program and all graduates are guaranteed positions for Big 4 firms. Our actuarial science program is also good but very small. I have passed 2 exams and I'm not sure if I want to take any more. I get advice from my brother who is a newly minted FSA grinding the winters in Chicago because he can't find a job in Texas. With all the trouble and scarifice he made with the exams and 8 years later receiving a decent paycheck of about 80k in the end, I'm not sure if I want to deal with it. Granted, my bro said he has no ability to manage people and let alone be in senior management. Another thing, the recruiter from KPMG who knew a bit about actuaries said that Manager CPA with 8 years experience makes more $$ with more opportunities than a comparable actuary. To all the posters in this forum, what advice would you give a college student with all being said? Why would anyone be actuaries when there are jobs that don't require so much exams and compensation is comparable if not better? I also question the top percentiles in the DW Simpson salary survey given the inputs I've collected. I appreciate everyones input.
Old 10-08-2006, 03:23 PM
CAS

Studying for CAS 7
Favorite beer: Wachusett Blueberry

According to Bureau of Labor Statistics

Actuaries
Median salary = $81,460
Average salary = $90,760
75th percentile = $112,360